Slide HKP LP Header 02 scaled Slide Laborfoto Seite 2 Slide Nadia Collection 31 Slide Nadia Collection 29 Slide Nadia Collection 2b

Slide HKP LP Header 02 scaled Slide Laborfoto Seite 2 Slide Nadia Collection 31 Slide Nadia Collection 29 Slide Nadia Collection 2b

ÜBER HKP

Regionalprogramm Hochschul- und Klinikpartnerschaften in Afrika:
Wandel im Gesundheitswesen gestalten 

Das Regionalprogramm fördert Projekte zwischen einigen der renommiertesten Universitätskrankenhäuser in Afrika und Deutschland. Diese Institutionen spielen eine zentrale Rolle bei der Aus- und Weiterbildung von Gesundheitsfachkräften und in der Spitzenforschung im Bereich der globalen Gesundheit.

MEHR DAZU

ÜBER HKP

Regionalprogramm Hochschul- und Klinikpartnerschaften in Afrika: Wandel im Gesundheitswesen gestalten

Das Regionalprogramm fördert Projekte zwischen einigen der renommiertesten Universitätskrankenhäuser in Afrika und Deutschland. Diese Institutionen spielen eine zentrale Rolle bei der Aus- und Weiterbildung von Gesundheitsfachkräften und in der Spitzenforschung im Bereich der globalen Gesundheit.

MEHR DAZU

Slide LAUFZEIT 2019
-
2021
Nach einem Jahr Vorbereitung
haben die Partnerschaften ihre
Projekte im Januar 2020 gestartet.
Slide Netzwerk von Global-Health-Expert*innen und Institutionen aus zurzeit
28 afrikanischen und 12 deutschen Partnern.
HKP LP Numbers 02 scaled
HKP LP Numbers 02 scaled Ecke gelb rechts PARTNER 40
Slide FOKUS: eHEALTH In der jetzigen Laufzeit liegt der
Fokus der HKP-Projekte auf
eHealth und berücksichtigt damit
die Initiative „Digitales Afrika“
des BMZ.
Slide HKP LP Numbers 03 scaled Die Projekte werden in 16 afrikanischen Ländern implementiert,
4 davon in Äthiopien.
Ecke gelb HKP LP Numbers 03 scaled 16 LÄNDER
Slide PPPs 3 Partnerschaften mit der
Privatwirtschaft bieten Zugang
zu Spitzentechnologie
und Expertise.
Slide HKP fördert Projekte und Netzwerke zwischen einigen der renommiertesten
Universitätskrankenhäuser in Afrika und Deutschland.
HKP LP Numbers 01 scaled
HKP LP Numbers 01 scaled Ecke gelb 16 PROJEKTE

PARTNERSCHAFTEN

Slide UGANDA KAMPALA & LEIPZIG READ MORE Die Medizinische Fakultät der Universität Leipzig und das Kiruddu National Referral Hospital sind die neuesten Mitglieder des Netzwerks COMBAT AMR und arbeiten an einem AMR-Projekt in Uganda. Im Mittelpunkt steht das digitale Laborinformationssystem des Netzwerks, das die Laborergebnisse an das behandelnde Personal übermittelt, damit eine entsprechende Therapie eingeleitet werden kann. Die gesammelten Daten werden auch für die Entwicklung von lokalen und regionalen Behandlungsrichtlinien genutzt. X CLOSE Sierra Leone FREETOWN & BERLIN READ MORE In Sierra Leone arbeiten die Charité – Universitätsmedizin und das in der Hauptstadt Freetown gelegene Princess Christian Maternity Hospital seit Jahren gemeinsam im Bereich der Mutter-Kind-Gesundheit. Die Partner entwickeln eine App, die Hebammen in der Peripherie dabei hilft zu entscheiden, welche Maßnahmen während einer kritischen Geburt getroffen werden sollten. Außerdem implementieren sie eine E-Learning-Plattform zur Weiterbildung des Gesundheitspersonals. X CLOSE Tansania IFAKARA & BERLIN READ MORE Die Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin widmet sich gemeinsam mit dem St. Francis Referral Hospital und dem Ifakara Health Institute im Osten Tansanias dem Themenschwerpunkt TB. Die drei Institutionen gehören zum TB-Netzwerk und entwickeln zusammen ein Laborinformationssystem, das digital Ergebnisse aus dem zentralen Labor an die peripheren Gesundheitseinrichtungen übermittelt, um die Diagnostik, insbesondere auch in ländlichen Gebieten, zu erleichtern. Die App dient außerdem der Therapieverfolgung und trägt zur Adhärenz bei. X CLOSE Madagaskar ATSIMO-ANDREFANA REGION & BERLIN READ MORE Für den Inselstaat Madagaskar haben sich die Charité und die NRO Ärzte für Madagaskar mit dem Centre Hospitalier de Référence du District Ampanihy-Ouest, dem Comité Régional de Lutte contre la Tuberculose et la Lèpre Atsimo-Andrefana sowie 21 TB-Versorgungszentren in der Region zusammengeschlossen. Ziel der Partnerschaft ist es, die Behandlung von TB in ausgewählten Regionen von Madagaskar zu verbessern. In Kooperation mit dem nationalen TB-Programm arbeiten die Partner an einer TB-Überwachung sowie einer mobilfunkgebundenen Transaktionsplattform. Sie sind Teil des neu entstandenen TB-Netzwerks, das aus insgesamt drei Partnerschaftsprojekten besteht. X CLOSE GABUN / BENIN LAMBARÉNÉ & COTONOU & TÜBINGEN READ MORE Das Universitätsklinikum Tübingen befasst sich gemeinsam mit dem Centre de Recherches Médicales de Lambaréné in Gabun und der Fondation pour la Recherche Scientifique in Benin mit dem Thema TB. Diese Institutionen gehören zum neu gegründeten TB-Netzwerk. Zusammen entwickeln sie eine Software zur videobasierten Überwachung der Medikamenteneinnahme von TB- und HIV-Erkrankten in ländlichen Gebieten von Gabun und Benin, die zur Verbesserung der Adhärenz beiträgt. X CLOSE GHANA KUMASI & HAMBURG READ MORE Das Universitätsklinikum Hamburg-Eppendorf und das Komfo Anokye Teaching Hospital in Kumasi führen erneut ein Projekt zu AMR in Ghana durch. Sie zählen zu den Gründungsmitgliedern des Netzwerks COMBAT AMR, das neben operativer Forschung zu AMR, das einheitliche DHIS2-basierte Laborinformationssystem an allen Partnerstandorten in Afrika implementiert. X CLOSE Guinea NZÉRÉKORÉ & TÜBINGEN READ MORE Um das Gesundheitssystem Guineas zu stärken, arbeiten die Akademie für Globale Gesundheit und Entwicklung, vertreten durch das Deutsche Institut für Ärztliche Mission e. V., die regionale und präfekturale Gesundheitsdirektion der Region Nzérékoré und die NRO TINKISSO zusammen. Die Partnerinstitutionen schulen an verschiedenen Orten Gesundheitsarbeiter*innen, um die Hygiene zu verbessern und Infektionen vorzubeugen. Das Projekt wird die Regierung dabei unterstützen, die Schulungsinhalte digital und in Online- und E-Learning-Kursen zur Verfügung zu stellen. So können mehr Mitarbeiter*innen geschult werden, ohne dass sie in die Hauptstadt Conakry reisen müssen. X CLOSE MALAWI BLANTYRE & HAMBURG READ MORE Das Universitätsklinikum Hamburg-Eppendorf arbeitet mit dem College of Medicine der University of Malawi in Blantyre an der Implementierung des POCUS in den verschiedenen Kliniken des College of Medicine. Durch dessen Einsatz soll die Zeit bis zur Diagnose verkürzt und die Qualität medizinischer Eingriffe verbessert werden. Um POCUS-Trainings zu fördern, haben die Partner eine E-Learning-Plattform für das Selbststudium, den Wissensaustausch und die Beratung von Gesundheitspersonal entwickelt. X CLOSE Äthiopien ADDIS ABEBA & HALLE READ MORE Das Institut für Medizinische Epidemiologie, Biometrie und Informatik der Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg und die School of Public Health der Universität Addis Abeba sind durch eine Partnerschaft verbunden. Ziel ist es, die dezentrale Versorgung von chronischen Krankheiten und die Prävention von Gebärmutterhalskrebs zu verbessern. Die beiden Partnerinstitutionen entwickeln gemeinsam Richtlinien für die Versorgung von häufigen chronischen Krankheiten wie Diabetes sowie eine digitale Komponente, um die Ergebnisse von Gebärmutterhalskrebs-Screenings vom Labor an die Gesundheitseinrichtungen und Patientinnen zu übermitteln. X CLOSE RUANDA BUTARE & BERLIN READ MORE Das Institut für Tropenmedizin und Internationale Gesundheit der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin arbeitet mit dem International Health and University Teaching Hospital of Butare und dem College of Medicine and Health Sciences der National University of Rwanda zusammen. Die Partnerinstitutionen haben das Netzwerk COMBAT AMR mitbegründet, nehmen an den regelmäßigen Netzwerktreffen teil und implementieren, ebenso wie die anderen Netzwerkmitglieder, das Open-Source-basierte Laborinformationssystem zu AMR. X CLOSE ÄTHIOPIEN ASELLA & DÜSSELDORF READ MORE Das Hirsch-Institut für Tropenmedizin am Universitätsklinikum Düsseldorf arbeitet seit 2010 mit dem Assela Teaching and Referral Hospital der Arsi University zusammen. Beide Institutionen sind Gründungsmitglieder des Netzwerks COMBAT AMR und bauen ein digitales Laborinformationssystem auf, um AMR-Daten aus allen afrikanischen Partnerstandorten zu sammeln und zusammenzuführen. X CLOSE ÄTHIOPIEN JIMMA & MÜNCHEN READ MORE Die Partnerschaft zwischen dem Klinikum der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München und dem Jimma University Medical Centre wurde im Jahr 2002 gegründet. Beide Partnerinstitutionen sind Gründungsmitglieder des Netzwerks COMBAT AMR und befinden sich bereits in der zweiten Phase des HKP-Programms. Als Teil der laufenden eHealth-Förderung arbeiten sie gemeinsam an der Entwicklung einer DHIS2-basierten digitalen Lösung, die Laborergebnisse an das behandelnde Personal überträgt. X CLOSE Kenia NAIROBI & FRANKFURT READ MORE Das Klinikum der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main und das Kenyatta National Hospital engagieren sich gemeinsam im Netzwerk COMBAT AMR, in dem ein regelmäßiger Austausch unter den Netzwerkpartnern stattfindet. Durch Trainingsangebote, die Sensibilisierung von Gesundheitspersonal für das Thema sowie die Implementierung des digitalen Laborinformationssystems werden die Kapazitäten zur Prävention, Diagnose und Therapie von AMR vor Ort gestärkt. X CLOSE Gabun / Benin LAMBARÉNÉ & COTONOU & TÜBINGEN READ MORE Das Universitätsklinikum Tübingen befasst sich gemeinsam mit dem Centre de Recherches Médicales de Lambaréné in Gabun und der Fondation pour la Recherche Scientifique in Benin mit dem Thema TB. Diese Institutionen gehören zum neu gegründeten TB-Netzwerk. Zusammen entwickeln sie eine Software zur videobasierten Überwachung der Medikamenteneinnahme von TB- und HIV-Erkrankten in ländlichen Gebieten von Gabun und Benin, die zur Verbesserung der Adhärenz beiträgt. X CLOSE MALI Bamako & Casablanca & Berlin READ MORE Die Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin und das Hassan-II.-Universitätsklinikum in Casablanca, Marokko, arbeiten seit Jahren in einer engen Partnerschaft zusammen. Für das aktuelle Projekt wurde die Partnerschaft auf das Gabriel Touré Hospital der University of Sciences, Technics and Technologies in Bamako, Mali, ausgeweitet. In Zusammenarbeit mit Siemens Healthineers führen die Partner ein Projekt zur Verbesserung der Diagnose und Behandlung von gynäkologischen Krebserkrankungen durch. Das Projekt nutzt eine von Siemens Healthineers zur Verfügung gestellte digitale Plattform für regelmäßige Tumorboards, Webinare und E-Learning-Module, um medizinisches Fachpersonal aus verschiedenen Disziplinen zu schulen. Auch eine jährliche Sommerschule ist Teil des Projekts. X CLOSE NIGERIA Abuja & Berlin READ MORE Das Robert Koch-Institut (RKI) und das Nigerian Center for Disease Control (NCDC) arbeiten gemeinsam an der Rationalisierung des Antibiotikaeinsatzes durch ein „Antimicrobial Stewardship (AMS)“-Programm in Nigeria. Das Projekt beinhaltet eine wissenschaftliche Zusammenarbeit zur Digitalisierung von AMR-Routinedaten und mehrere Schulungen. Ergänzend zu diesem Projekt unterstützt HKP die Zusammenarbeit zwischen NCDC und seinem offiziellen Partner bioMérieux. bioMérieux unterstützt die Labore von zwei großen Krankenhäusern in Abuja durch die Bereitstellung von Geräten und Schulungen. X CLOSE ÄTHIOPIEN GONDAR & HEIDELBERG READ MORE In Gondar führen die Abteilung für Angewandte Tumorbiologie des Universitätsklinikums Heidelberg und das College of Medicine and Health Sciences der Universität Gondar ein Projekt zur Verbesserung der Diagnostik von Gebärmutterhalskrebs durch. Die Partnerschaft arbeitet mit der Firma Roche Molecular Systems Inc. zusammen, um den Zugang, die Effizienz und die Qualität des Gebärmutterhalskrebs-Screenings durch Selbsttests mit humanen Papillomaviren (HPV) in ländlichen Gemeinden zu verbessern. Das Projekt wird zu einer effektiveren und effizienteren Triage für HPV-positive Frauen führen, wobei diejenigen, die eine sofortige Behandlung benötigen, von Patientinnen unterschieden werden, die nur eine regelmäßige Nachuntersuchung oder keine Maßnahmen benötigen. X CLOSE Punkte weisser punkt Punkte pinker punkt Punkte grüner punkt Punkte weisser punkt Punkte pinker punkt Punkte pinker punkt Punkte grüner punkt Punkte grüner punkt Punkte pinker punkt Punkte pinker punkt Punkte weisser punkt Punkte weisser punkt Punkte pinker punkt Karte Punkte grüner punkt Punkte organge Punkte organge Punkte organge

PARTNERSCHAFTEN

 

mobile karte Afrika

Unsere Partner: Netzwerk von Global-Health-Expert*innen und Institutionen in Afrika und Deutschland

16 Partnerschaftsprojekte in 14 afrikanischen Ländern südlich der Sahara arbeiten in Bereichen, die für die globale Gesundheit relevant sind, z. B. antimikrobielle Resistenz (AMR), Tuberkulose (TB) und nichtübertragbare Krankheiten (NCDs); dabei steht die Implementierung von eHealth-Lösungen im Mittelpunkt.

MEHR DAZU

AMR Netzwerk / TB Netzwerk

KOLLABORATIONEN

HKP LP Collabo 01 Kopie scaled
Nadia Collection 20 1
Nadia Collection 20 1

KOLLABORATIONEN

HKP nutzt die Kraft der Privatwirtschaft zur Unterstützung der Partnerschaften zwischen den Universitätskrankenhäusern.

Bedeutende medizinische Unternehmen wie Siemens Healthineers oder Roche engagieren sich als Kooperationspartner der Krankenhäuser. Sie unterstützen das jeweilige gemeinsame Gesundheitsprojekt z. B. im Bereich der Krebsdiagnose und -forschung sowohl mit technischem Know-how, beispielsweise durch Schulungen, Geräte und Zubehör, als auch mit finanziellen Mitteln. Diese Art des privatwirtschaftlichen Engagements ist eine Public-private-Partnership (PPP), die für die öffentlichen Mittel für entwicklungsbezogene Gesundheitsprojekte wie ein Hebel wirkt. Durch die Zusammenarbeit mit privatwirtschaftlichen Partnern profitieren Universitäts- und Referenzkrankenhäuser in Subsahara-Afrika von größeren Projekten sowie Spitzentechnologien und Expertise, zu denen sie sonst vielleicht keinen Zugang erhielten.

MEHR DAZU

NEWS & EVENTS

NEWS & EVENTS

Combat AMR Network Event in Asella, Ethiopia February 2020

Combat AMR Network Event in Asella, Ethiopia February 2020

The network on Antimicrobial Resistance (AMR) was initiated between five German and six African partner sites in 2016 with the goal to join forces in the fight against the spread of AMR in Sub-Saharan Africa. Founded by the German University and Hospital Partnership...

The impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the HKP partnership projects

The impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the HKP partnership projects

The Corona pandemic has had a strong impact on the cooperation within the HKP partnership projects. Since February, due to travel restrictions, the planned trips for mutual visits and training events have not been able to take place; instead, many partnerships have...

WEITER ZU ÜBER HKP

Slide HKP LP Header 02 scaled Slide Laborfoto Seite 2 Slide Nadia Collection 31 Slide Nadia Collection 29 Slide Nadia Collection 2b

Slide HKP LP Header 02 scaled Slide Laborfoto Seite 2 Slide Nadia Collection 31 Slide Nadia Collection 29 Slide Nadia Collection 2b

ABOUT

Regional Programme University and Hospital Partnerships in Africa: Creating change in healthcare 

The regional programme supports partnership projects between some of the most prestigious university hospitals in Africa and in Germany. These institutions play a central role in the training of the healthcare professionals of the future and in state-of-the–art research on topics relevant to global health.

READ MORE

ABOUT

Regional Programme
University and Hospital Partnerships in Africa: Creating change in healthcare 

The regional programme supports partnership projects between some of the most prestigious university hospitals in Africa and in Germany. These institutions play a central role in the training of the healthcare professionals of the future and in state-of-the–art research on topics relevant to global health.

READ MORE

Slide DURATION 2019
-
2021
After a year of preparation and
matchmaking the 13 partnerships
launched their projects in
January 2020.
Slide Our partners are a network of global health experts and institutions
from Africa and Germany. 
Currently 23 African partner institutions and
10 German partner institutions are involved.
HKP LP Numbers 02 scaled
HKP LP Numbers 02 scaled Ecke gelb rechts PARTNER 33
Slide FOCUS: eHEALTH In the current phase, in line with
BMZ’s ‘Digital Africa’ strategy,
HKP focusses specifically on
eHealth.
Slide HKP LP Numbers 03 scaled The projects are implemented in 12 countries in
Sub-Sahara Africa, three of which are located in Ethiopia.
Ecke gelb HKP LP Numbers 03 scaled 12 Countries
Slide PPPS 3 Public-Private Partnerships offer
access to cutting-edge
technologies and expertise
Slide HKP supports partnerships and networking between some of the most
renowned university hospitals in Africa and Germany.


HKP LP Numbers 01 scaled
HKP LP Numbers 01 scaled Ecke gelb 13 PROJECTS

PARTNERSHIPS

Slide UGANDA KAMPALA & LEIPZIG READ MORE The University of Leipzig’s medical school and the Kiruddu National Referral Hospital are the newest members of the AMR network and work as partners in an AMR project in Uganda. The focus is on the network’s digital laboratory information system that transmits laboratory results to the attending staff so that appropriate therapy can be initiated. The data collected will also be used to develop local and regional treatment guidelines.
X CLOSE
Sierra Leone FREETOWN & BERLIN READ MORE In Sierra Leone, Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin and the Princess Christian Maternity Hospital, located in the capital Freetown, have been working together for years in the field of mother-child health. The partners are developing an app that helps midwives in remote areas decide which measures should be taken during a critical birth and are also implementing an e-learning platform for the further training of health personnel. X CLOSE Tanzania IFAKARA & BERLIN READ MORE Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, the St. Francis Referral Hospital and the Ifakara Health Institute are tackling TB in eastern Tanzania. The three institutions belong to the TB network. Together, these partners are developing a laboratory information system that digitally transmits results from the central laboratory to peripheral, often rural, healthcare facilities in order to facilitate diagnosis and treatment. The app is also used for therapy monitoring and contributes to adherence. X CLOSE Madagascar ATSIMO-ANDREFANA REGION & BERLIN READ MORE For the island state of Madagascar, the Charité and the NGO Doctors for Madagascar have joined forces with Centre Hospitalier de Référence du District Ampanihy-Ouest, the Comité Régional de Lutte contre la Tuberculose et la Lèpre Atsimo- Andrefana and 21 TB care centres in the region. The aim of the partnership is to improve TB treatment in selected regions of Madagascar. In cooperation with the national TB programme, the partners are working on TB monitoring and a mobile transaction platform. They are part of the newly established TB network, consisting of 3 partnership projects.
X CLOSE
GABON / BENIN LAMBARÉNÉ & COTONOU & TÜBINGEN READ MORE The University Hospital of Tübingen is working on the topic of TB together with the Centre de Recherches Médicales de Lambaréné in Gabon and the Fondation Pour La Recherche Scientifique in Benin. These institutions belong to the newly founded TB network. In cooperation, they are developing a software for video-based monitoring of the medication intake of TB and HIV patients in rural areas of Gabon and Benin, which contributes to improving adherence. X CLOSE GHANA KUMASI & HAMBURG READ MORE The University Hospital Hamburg-Eppendorf and the Komfo Anokye Teaching Hospital in Kumasi are also conducting a project on AMR in Ghana. They are among the founding members of the AMR network, which, in addition to operational research on AMR, is implementing a uniform DHIS2-based laboratory information system at all partner locations in Africa. X CLOSE Guinea NZÉRÉKORÉ & TÜBINGEN READ MORE To strengthen Guinea‘s health system, the Academy for Global Health and Development, represented by the German Institute for Medical Mission (Deutsches Institut für Ärztliche Mission e.V.), the regional and prefectural health directorate of the Nzérékoré region and the NGO TINKISSO are working together. The partners are training health workers in a variety of locations to improve hygiene and prevent infection. The project will support the government in making the training content available digitally and in online and e-learning courses. This will enable more staff to be trained without having to travel to the capital Conakry. X CLOSE MALAWI BLANTYRE & HAMBURG READ MORE The Eppendorf University Medical Centre (UKE) Hamburg is working with the College of Medicine of the University of Malawi in Blantyre on the implementation of the Point-of-Care Ultrasound (POCUS) in the different clinics of the College of Medicine. Its use should shorten the time for diagnosis and improve the quality of medical interventions. To promote POCUS training, the partners have developed an e-learning platform for self-study, knowledge exchange and counselling of health personnel. X CLOSE Ethiopia ADDIS ABABA & HALLE READ MORE The Institute of Medical Epidemiology, Biometry and Informatics at Martin Luther University Halle- Wittenberg and the School of Public Health at Addis Ababa University are also linked by a partnership. The aim is to improve the decentralised care of chronic diseases and the prevention of cervical cancer. The two partners are jointly developing guidelines for the care of common chronic diseases such as diabetes, as well as a digital component that transmits cervical screening results from the laboratory to the healthcare institutions and patients. X CLOSE RWANDA BUTARE & BERLIN READ MORE The Institute of Tropical Medicine and International Health of Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin works together with the University Teaching Hospital of Butare and the College of Medicine and Health Sciences of the National University of Rwanda. The partners are co-founders of the AMR network, participate in the regular network meetings and, like the other network members, implement the open source-based Laboratory Information System on AMR. X CLOSE Ethiopia ASELLA & DÜSSELDORF READ MORE The Hirsch Institute for Tropical Medicine at Düsseldorf University Hospital has been working with the Assela Teaching and Referral Hospital at Arsi University since 2010. Both institutions are founding members of the AMR network and are establishing a digital laboratory information system to collect and merge AMR data from all African partner sites. X CLOSE ETHIOPIA JIMMA & MUNICH READ MORE The partnership between Ludwig-Maximilian University Hospital in Munich and the Jimma University Medical Centre was established in 2002. Both partners are founding members of the Antimicrobial Resistance (AMR) network and are already in the second phase of the HKP programme. As part of ongoing eHealth funding, they are working together to develop a DHIS2-based digital solution that transmits laboratory results to attending staff. X CLOSE Kenya NAIROBI & FRANKFURT READ MORE Within the AMR network, the University of Frankfurt works together with the Kenyatta National Hospital on the topic of AMR. Through training and sensitisation of health personnel and the implementation of the network’s digital laboratory information system, the capacities for prevention, diagnosis and therapy of AMR are strengthened locally and there is regular exchange with the other network partners. X CLOSE Gabon / Benin LAMBARÉNÉ & COTONOU & TÜBINGEN READ MORE The University Hospital of Tübingen is working on the topic of TB together with the Centre de Recherches Médicales de Lambaréné in Gabon and the Fondation Pour La Recherche Scientifique in Benin. These institutions belong to the newly founded TB network. In cooperation, they are developing a software for video-based monitoring of the medication intake of TB and HIV patients in rural areas of Gabon and Benin, which contributes to improving adherence. X CLOSE MALI BAMAKO & CASABLANCA & BERLIN READ MORE Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin and the Hassan II University Hospital in Casablanca, Morocco have been working in a close partnership for years. For the current project the partnership has been extended to the Gabriel Touré Hospital of the University of Sciences, Technics and Technologies in Bamako, Mali. In cooperation with Siemens Healthineers, the partners are implementing a project to improve the diagnosis and treatment of gynecological cancers. The project uses a digital platform provided by Siemens Healthineers to have regular tumor boards, webinars and e-learning modules to train healthcare workers from different disciplines. An annual summer school is also part of the project. X CLOSE NIGERIA ABUJA & BERLIN READ MORE The Robert Koch-Institute (RKI) and the Nigerian Center for Disease Control (NCDC) work together to rationalize antibiotic use through an antimicrobial stewardship (AMS) program in Nigeria. The project includes a scientific collaboration to support the digitalization of routine AMR data and multiple trainings. Complementary to this project, HKP supports the collaboration between NCDC and its official partner bioMérieux. bioMérieux supports the laboratories of two main hospitals in Abuja through equipment supply and trainings. X CLOSE ETHIOPIA GONDAR & HEIDELBERG READ MORE In Gondar, the Department of Applied Tumor Biology of the Heidelberg University Hospital and the College of Medicine and Health Sciences of the University of Gondar are implementing a project to improve the diagnostics of cervical cancer. The partnership cooperates with the company Roche Molecular System Inc. to improve the access, the efficiency and the quality of cervical cancer screening through human papilloma virus (HPV) self-sampling tests in rural communities. The project will result in a more effective and efficient triage for HPV positive women distinguishing those in need of immediate treatment from patients only needing a regular follow-up or no action. X CLOSE Punkte weisser punkt Punkte pinker punkt Punkte grüner punkt Punkte weisser punkt Punkte pinker punkt Punkte pinker punkt Punkte grüner punkt Punkte grüner punkt Punkte pinker punkt Punkte pinker punkt Punkte weisser punkt Punkte weisser punkt Punkte pinker punkt Karte Punkte grüner punkt Punkte organge Punkte organge Punkte organge

PARTNERSHIPS

 

mobile karte Afrika

Our partners: A network of global health experts and institutions in Africa and Germany

13 partnership projects in 12 sub-Saharan African countries work on topics relevant to global health such as antimicrobial resistance (AMR), tuberculosis (TB) and noncommunicable diseases (NCDs) with a focus on implementing eHealth solutions.

READ MORE

AMR Network / TB Network

COLLABORATIONS

HKP LP Collabo 01 Kopie scaled
Nadia Collection 20 1
Nadia Collection 20 1

COLLABORATIONS

HKP is harnessing the power of the private sector in support of the partnerships between the university hospitals.

Major medical companies such as Siemens Healthineers or Roche engage with the university hospitals as a cooperation partner providing substantial support for the joint healthcare project, for instance in cancer diagnosis and research, both through technical expertise – e.g. training, equipment, supplies – and through funding. This type of private sector involvement is a Public-Private Partnership (PPP) which creates a leverage effect for the public funds for development-related healthcare projects. Through the cooperation with private sector partners, university and referral hospitals in sub-Saharan Africa benefit from larger-scale projects and gain access to cutting-edge technologies and expertise which might otherwise be out of their reach.

READ MORE

NEWS & EVENTS

NEWS & EVENTS

Combat AMR Network Event in Asella, Ethiopia February 2020

Combat AMR Network Event in Asella, Ethiopia February 2020

The network on Antimicrobial Resistance (AMR) was initiated between five German and six African partner sites in 2016 with the goal to join forces in the fight against the spread of AMR in Sub-Saharan Africa. Founded by the German University and Hospital Partnership...

The impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the HKP partnership projects

The impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the HKP partnership projects

The Corona pandemic has had a strong impact on the cooperation within the HKP partnership projects. Since February, due to travel restrictions, the planned trips for mutual visits and training events have not been able to take place; instead, many partnerships have...

GO TO ABOUT